Theory and Foundations For Modeling & Simulation Track (TMS – ANNSIM `23)

Aims and Scope

The TMS-ANNSIM track provides a forum to present the most recent advances in the Theory and Foundations of Modeling and Simulation (previous editions). Its focus is on the Modeling and Simulation concepts, methods, methodology, practice, and toolkits. This track welcomes unpublished papers on the topics below as well as others that can help deepen and expand the M&S Theory and Foundations for better understanding and development of computing, physical, and human systems.

Accepted papers will be submitted to the ACM Digital Library (approved) and IEEE Digital Library (pending approval) for archiving and will be indexed in DBLP and SCOPUS databases.

Conference: May 23-26, 2023

Deadline: January 08, January 29, 2023

Author notification: March 7, 2023

Camera-ready paper submission: March 20, 2023


  • Modeling and Simulation Formalisms (Actors, DEVS, Petri nets, Statecharts, etc.)
  • Multi-formalism Modeling, Hybrid Modeling Languages, Multi-Modal Modeling
  • Multi-Resolution/Multi-Scale Modeling, Multi-Paradigm/Multi-Domain Modeling,
  • Model Checking, Formalism-Based Model Debugging, Model Transformation
  • Parallel, Distributed, Real-Time, Cloud-Based, and Interactive Simulation
  • Modular Hybrid, Spatially Distributed, and Ultra Large-Scale Systems
  • Other related topics are welcome

Submission guidelines

For submission guidelines, go to Papers should be submitted at

Technical Program Committee

  • Andelfinger, Philipp,University of Rostock, Germany
  • Barros, Fernando, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Blas, Maria Julia, Instituto de Desarrollo y Diseño INGAR (CONICET), Argentina
  • Blouin, Dominique, Telecom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France
  • Bocciarelli, Paolo, University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
  • Boulanger, Frédéric, Centrale Supélec, France
  • Castro, Rodrigo, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Cicirelli, Franco, ICAR-CNR, Italy
  • Cristia, Maximiliano, CIFASIS and UNR, Argentina
  • D’Ambrogio, Andrea, University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
  • de Grande, Robso, Brock University, Canada
  • de Lara, Juan, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Falcone, Alberto, University of Calabria, Italy
  • Fonseca, Pau, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Frydman, Claudia, Aix-Marseille University, France
  • Goldstein, Rhys, Autodesk Research, Canada
  • Hagendorf, Olaf, Hochschule Wismar, Germany
  • Jarrah, Moath, Jordan University of Science and Technology, Jordan
  • Li, Laetitia, FAST Labs, BAE Systems, United States of America
  • Mahmood, Imran, National University of Sciences and Technology, Pakistan
  • McKeever, Steve, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Mittal, Saurabh, The MITRE Corporation, United States of America
  • Moon, Il-Chul, KAIST, Republic of Korea
  • Muzy, Alexandre, Côte d’Azur University, France
  • Naderlinger, Andreas, University of Salzburg, Austria
  • Navarro-López, Eva, University of Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • Nutaro, James, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States of America
  • Oakes, Bently, University of Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium
  • Pawletta, Thorsten, Wismar University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Praehofer, Herbert, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Germany
  • Quaglia, Francesco, University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
  • Rajhans, Akshay, MathWorks, United States of America
  • Risco-Martín, José L., Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
  • Seok, Moon Gi, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Toba, Ange Lionel, Idaho National Laboratory, United States of America
  • Tronci, Enrico, Università di Roma, La Sapienza, Italy
  • Urquia, Alfonso, UNED, Spain
  • Vandin, Andrea, Sant’Anna School of Advanced Studies, Italy
  • Wilsey, Philip, University of Cincinnati, United States of America
  • Zacharewicz, Greg, IMT – Mines Ales, France
  • Zanni-Merk, Cecilia, INSA Rouen Normandie, France

Track Chairs